Log in

About Us

The Institute of Regulation was established in 2021 to provide resources and a professional network to everyone working in and/or interested in regulation.

We are built from an informal network of 35 non-financial regulators that had been meeting since 2019. We are a charitable not-for-profit company, registered with Companies House (13628098) and will be applying to the Charity Commission for charitable status in 2023.

Our Objectives

Our Mission

  • To promote and provide education and training in the theory and practice of regulation.
  • To research, develop and promote good practice in regulation.

We believe that good regulation holds the key to public organisational effectiveness and social and economic prosperity. We aim to bring sector-specific knowledge sharing for best practices and improved value, and provide a framework for policy innovation, collaboration and improved public services.

Our Values

We promote and advance excellence, learning and creativity in the field of regulation.
Openness & collaboration

We actively and generously engage with all those that have an interest in regulation, whatever their background or their organisation. 


We give a voice to the value of regulation and the community of regulators, with authority, candour, and free from political influence.


We uphold the highest standards of conduct, recognising the impact of regulation across all dimensions of society, government and the economy.

We have links with other networks of regulators, including UKRN and the Ombudsmen Association in the UK, and international networks including the New Zealand Government Regulatory Practice Initiative (G-REG), the US Council on Licensure, Enforcement and Regulation (CLEAR), the Forum of Indian Regulators (FIOR), the National Regulators Community of Practice at the Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZOG) and the Community of Federal Regulators of Canada (CFR).

The Institute of Regulation is overseen by a Trustee Board of senior executives and regulatory practitioners, supported by an Advisory Board of experts in regulation and the WS Society in a secretariat function.

Executive Board of Trustees

Marcial Boo

Marcial Boo is the CEO of the Equality and Human Rights Commission, and previously CEO of the MPs’ regulator IPSA and the UK Public Health Register, regulating health workers. He was a director at both the NAO and Audit Commission, and former senior civil servant at the Home Office and Department of Education. He advises the UCL’s Constitution Unit on the regulation of democracy and has published a book, "The Public Sector Fox", on public sector management. and a book on regulating politics - "The Rules of Democracy". With others, he founded the Institute of Regulation.

Michael Hanton

Michael Hanton is Director of Strategy and Markets at Ofqual, where he’s worked for the past eight years. Michael leads Ofqual’s work on regulatory strategy, innovation, its approach to market regulation and risk management, as well as the Chief Regulators Office. Prior to working in regulation, Michael worked in local government leading transformation to improve local service delivery in areas including adult social care and neighbourhood management.

Dr Matthew Gill

Dr Matthew Gill is a programme director at the Institute of Government, leading their work on public bodies and regulation. 

He was policy director at the British Business Bank for over five year, including during the EU exit and the pandemic. He previously helped establish the bank while leading on enterprise policy at HM Treasury. Before that, he worked in prudential policy at the Financial services Authority and the Bank of England following the financial crisis.

Matthew began his career at PwC, where he became a chartered accountant. He then completed a PhD in sociology and spent two years in the USA as an interdisciplinary Andrew W. Mellon postdoctoral fellow. He is the author of Accountants' Truth: Knowledge and Ethics in the Financial World (Oxford, 2009)

Alan Clamp

Alan Clamp is the Chief Executive of the Professional Standards Authority. The role of the Authority is one of public protection and it oversees the work of the ten regulators in health and social care. Formerly, posts include the Chief Executive of the Security Industry Authority (SIA) and Chief Executive at the Human Tissue Authority (HTA). Alan has worked for almost 20 years in regulation and served as a regulatory adviser to the Bar Standards Board and Ofqual. He is also a Non-Executive Director of the Parole Board of England and Wales.

Dr Russell Richardson

Dr Russell Richardson is an experienced competition and regulatory lawyer, with specific expertise in Oil & Gas, Internet and Media/Communications sectors. He has managed various dispute resolutions and multi-discipline litigation before the UK, EU and Grand Cayman courts. Russell is currently the General Counsel and Company Secretary for the UK Oil & Gas Authority. Previously, he was General Counsel and Deputy Director Industry Affairs for the Information and Communications Technology Authority in the Cayman Islands. Prior to that, he was a Principal Lawyer at the UK Office of Communications.

Matthew Coffey

Matthew Coffey is Ofsted’s Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Inspector. Matthew joined Ofsted in 2007, following ten months as Lead Officer in the ‘Creating New Ofsted’ programme for workforce and organisational structure. Other appointments have included Regional Divisional Manager, Regional Director and National Director of Learning & Skills. Prior to Ofsted, Matthew’s experience included teaching and managing quality assurance of vocational education and employment skills training for young people and adults.

Victoria Howes

Victoria is Head of Strategy Strategy at the Care Quality Commission and has worked in regulation and oversight for over 20 years. She led the development of CQC’s latest corporate strategy, setting the future direction for health and social care regulation in England. Her portfolio includes strategic assurance, horizon scanning, regulatory reform and strategic engagement. Victoria is part of the faculty that developed and teaches the international course on “Strategic thinking and development for health and care regulators” at Erasmus University. She is passionate about value driven regulation which goes beyond compliance and uses all the levers available to drive improvement.

Naomi Nicholson

Naomi Nicholson is an experienced education and healthcare regulator, a primary school governor and mother of three young children. She is currently Executive Director of Professional Practice and Insight at the Health and Care Professions Council, where she is delighted to be Executive Sponsor for Equality, Diversity & Inclusion. Previously, Naomi was Director of Primary Assessment Regulation at Ofqual,  in the women’s sector and was gender equality duty lead at Government Equalities Office. Naomi is interested in compassionate, evidence-based regulation that creates insights to inspire and drive real improvement for the public and service users.

Mark Swindells

Mark is the Assistant Director for the Standards and Ethics team at the GMC. This team is responsible for our core guidance for the doctors: Good Medical Practice (GMP), and other guidance which builds on the principles in GMP. We produce learning materials and give advice on standards and ethics through our enquiry service. 

Prior to joining the GMC in 2018, Mark worked in the civil service, latterly as Head of Strategic Reform and Priorities at the Department for International Development. Prior to that he held a number of policy, operational and private office roles at the Department for Work and Pensions.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software